Mini gardeners

I’m a natural scientist (without the massive brain required to make a career out of it!) but I have always loved the magic of nature and why things happen. I want to instill this love in my girls too.

 

At 4 & 2 they are a bit too young for full blown nature talks but I’ve always taken them outside in the garden or in the park (when we didn’t have one) and made a point of looking at what’s around us and talking about the  seasons and creepy crawlies. Making sure that we go out whatever the weather.

This year I’ve done some great activities with them. My favourite so far has got to have been growing our own sunflowers.

 

The wonder on their faces when I told them that if we looked after them properly these tiny seeds would grow even taller than them and produce big beautiful Yellow flowers was epic!

 

We planted the seeds in May and just 8 weeks later, true to my word, our sunflowers are huge – even taller than Daddy! (Daddy is the biggest person the girls know!)

They now think we’ve performed magic, which is essentially true… Plus they’ve learnt about what soil does, what the water does and why plants need water. Winning all round I think!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment